Top Atlanta work injury lawyers fighting for your maximum compensation and benefits
When a tragic workplace accident occurs, the compensation process should be straightforward. If you’re injured on the job, you should know that you have certain rights, benefits and responsibilities. Your employer also has obligations and responsibilities regarding all employees under Georgia law. Unfortunately, employers and insurance companies often put profits before the best interests of their employees, leaving injured individuals and their families stranded in financial limbo.
As diligent and dedicated top Atlanta work injury lawyers with over 75 years of combined experience, we have helped thousands of injured workers across many different industries overcome a variety of common workers’ compensation obstacles such as denied claims, pre-existing conditions, returning to work and more.
Starting with this website, we aim to provide helpful legal advice about injury cases specific to your field or profession, and we won’t stop until we’ve secured the best possible outcome in your case.
Contact us today to schedule your free consultation.
Georgia workers’ compensation law & employee responsibilities
Workers’ compensation is a type of insurance paid for by employers and companies that provides compensation for wage loss and medical bills to employees injured on the job or during the course of employment.
Workers’ comp also provides monetary compensation to the spouse and dependents of a person who is fatally injured as a result of a work-related accident.In the state of Georgia, workers’ comp insurance is mandatory for most businesses with three or more employees, including part-time workers.
Georgia workers’ compensation law (O.C.G.A. (34-9-81.1)) provides every person working in the state coverage for a work-related injury, even if an injury occurs on the first day on the job. In order to qualify for these benefits, the injured worker must adhere to the following responsibilities:
- Follow written rules of safety and other reasonable policies and procedures of the employer.
- Report any accident immediately, or no later than 30 days after the accident, to your employer, your employer’s representative, your foreman or immediate supervisor.
- Accept reasonable medical treatment and rehabilitation services when ordered by the State Board of Workers’ Compensation.
- Show that the incident wasn’t caused due to the employee’s willful misconduct.
- Notify the insurance carrier/employer of your address when you move to a new location; also notify the insurance carrier/employer when you are able to return to full-time or part-time work, and report the amount of your weekly earnings because you may be entitled to some income benefits even though you have returned to work.
- Notify the insurance carrier/employer upon change of address or remarriage (in the case of a dependent spouse of a deceased worker).
- Attempt a job approved by the authorized treating physician, even if the pay is lower than the job you had when you were injured.
- File a claim within one year after the date of last authorized medical treatment or within two years of your last payment of weekly benefits if you believe you are entitled to income benefits and your insurance carrier/employer denies these benefits.
- File a claim with the State Board of Workers’ Compensation within one year after the death of a loved one due to a work-related accident.
- Submit any request for reimbursement to you for mileage or other expenses related to medical care to the insurance carrier/employer within one year of the date the expense was incurred.
- Submit to a drug test following an on-the-job injury if asked to, or provide justifiable evidence for a refusal.
- Tell the truth or risk being guilty of a misdemeanor for making false or misleading statements when claiming benefits.
COVID-19 has created new challenges in the workplace, forcing workers, employers and insurers to reconsider how they handle issues like safety protocols, workplace injuries and workers’ compensation benefits.
Helping injured workers across Georgia
From two convenient law offices in Atlanta and Athens, Gerber & Holder workers’ compensation attorneys continue to build on their proven success at securing compensation in cases involving many types of work injuries, including head and brain injuries, neck and back injuries, back pain after car accident at work, hip injuries and more. We commonly represent injured workers in dangerous industries such as:
- Manufacturing (factory workers, assembly line personnel, heavy machine operators and others)
- Construction (carpenters, welders, ironworkers, roofers and others)
- Healthcare (doctors, nurses, nursing assistants, orderlies, hospital workers and others)
- Law enforcement (police officers, detectives, investigators and others)
We also represent Georgians in occupations with lesser known dangers such as cleaners and restaurant staff.
It’s vital that you understand your state’s unique rules and what benefits your family is entitled to receive.
In most states, PTSD benefits fall under "mental/mental," "mental-only" or "psychological" injuries. While a majority of states allow some form of compensation for mental injuries arising out of a physical injury at work (mental/physical injuries), far fewer states allow workers’ compensation for mental harm, suffering, damage, impairment, or dysfunction resulting from some action or failure to act by some individual. Find out more
Workers’ compensation resources
Learn more about how the workers’ compensation process works in Georgia
Finding the best work injury attorney
- How Much Does It Cost to Hire a Workers’ Compensation Attorney in Georgia?
- What Can a Georgia Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Do For You?
- Free Attorney Consultations in Georgia Workers’ Compensation Cases
- What Can a Georgia Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Do for You?
- When to Hire a Georgia Workers’ Compensation Lawyer
- How to Find the Best Georgia Workers’ Compensation Attorney
- Why Hiring the Best Workers’ Compensation Lawyer is Important
- Important Questions to Ask Your Georgia Workers’ Compensation Lawyer
- Overview of Workers’ Compensation Attorney Fees
- How to Prepare to Meet Your Workers’ Compensation Attorney
- How to Prepare for a Workers’ Compensation Deposition
- Signs of a Bad Workers’ Compensation Lawyer
- How Do Workers’ Comp Attorneys Get Paid?
Medical inquiries for workers’ compensation
- What To Do If Medical Treatment is Denied by Workers’ Comp
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation for Hip Replacement Surgery
- What To Do (And Not To Do) When Your Work Status Changes
- Independent Medical Examinations in Georgia Work Injury Claims
- What to Expect During a Doctor Evaluation for a Workplace Back Injury
- What is Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI) in Georgia Workers’ Compensation Claims?
- Types of Medical Treatment Available in Georgia Workers’ Compensation Cases
- How to Choose the Best Doctor For Your Work-Related Injury or Illness
- What to Say (And What NOT to Say) to Your Georgia Workers’ Compensation Doctor
- Medical Treatment Coverage Under Georgia Workers’ Compensation Laws
- The Role of Telemedicine in Workers’ Compensation
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation Rules for Medical Confidentiality & HIPAA
- What is an Authorized Treating Physician in a Workers’ Compensation Claim?
- Importance of Considering Future Medical Expenses in Your Claim
- Heartburn Medication Lawsuits and Workers’ Comp in Georgia
Georgia workers’ compensation laws
- Can You Get Workers’ Compensation If Hurt During a Work Break?
- Can You Get Workers’ Compensation If Hurt While Drunk at Work?
- Georgia Wrongful Termination & Workers’ Compensation Laws
- Georgia Return to Work Rules During Coronavirus Pandemic
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation for Remote Workers & Telecommuters
- Are Uber and Lyft Drivers Employees or Independent Contractors?
- How To Determine If Your Employer Has Workers’ Compensation Coverage
- Are Your Georgia Workers’ Compensation Benefits Taxable?
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation Fraud & Insurance Bad Faith
- Can You Get Unemployment and Workers’ Compensation in Georgia?
- Workers’ Compensation for Occupational Illnesses and Diseases in Georgia
- How Social Media Can Affect Your Georgia Workers’ Compensation Case
- How Long Does a Georgia Workers’ Compensation Claim Take?
- How Do Pre-existing Conditions Impact Workers’ Comp in Georgia?
- Can You Reopen a Closed Workers’ Compensation Case in Georgia?
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation Case Timeline
- A Brief History of Workers’ Compensation in Georgia
- Workers’ Compensation Mileage/Parking Reimbursement in Georgia
- Georgia Hearing Process
- Can You Be Fired After a Workers’ Compensation Injury in Georgia?
- How to Report a Company for Unsafe Working Conditions in Georgia
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation and Pedestrian Accidents
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation for Drunk Driving Car Accidents
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation & Defective Products Law
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation & Premises Liability Law
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation for Hit-and-Run Car Accidents
- Negligent Hiring: Suing a Trucking Company for Negligent Supervision
- Medical Malpractice in Georgia Workers’ Compensation Cases
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation & Defamation Laws
- Who Pays for Workers’ Compensation in Georgia?
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation Laws for Franchises
- What Are The Penalties For Not Having Required Workers’ Compensation Coverage in Georgia?
- Does Georgia Allow Employers To Be Self-Insured for Workers’ Comp?
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation, Immigration Law & Immigrant Worker Rights
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation Laws & the ADA
- What the “Going and Coming” Rule Is & How It Impacts Georgia Workers’ Comp
- Can I Look for a New Job While on Workers’ Comp?
- When Federal & State Worker Injury Laws Overlap
- Eligibility Requirements for Georgia Workers’ Compensation
- Workers’ Comp Benefits for Professional Athletes in Georgia
Have you been injured on the job?
- Defective Equipment, Workers’ Comp & Product Liability in Georgia
- What to Do If You’re Injured by a Coworker
- COVID-19 & Workers’ Compensation for Federal Employees
- Why is Workers’ Compensation Necessary in Georgia?
- Common Georgia Workers’ Compensation Myths
- Common Types of Back & Neck Injuries After an Accident
- What to Do After a Whiplash Accident While On-the-Job
- Injured on the Job? What to Do Next
- What to Do After a Work-Related Back Injury
- Common Signs and Symptoms of a Workplace Back or Neck Injury
- Workers’ Comp vs. Personal Injury
- Georgia’s Bill of Rights for the Injured Worker
- When Can You Sue a Third-Party for a Work-Related Injury?
- Employer’s Responsibilities for Injured Workers
- Common Mistakes: What NOT to Do When Injured at Work
- Employer Retaliation Against Injured Workers
- Georgia Catastrophic Injuries in the Workplace
- Can You Get Workers’ Compensation for a Freak Accident?
- Common Ways Employers Try to Prevent Workers’ Compensation Claims
- When & How to Report a Work Injury to Your Employer in Georgia
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation for An Injury at Company-Sponsored Event
- What If You Accidentally Injure Yourself at Work in Georgia?
- Can You Refuse Workers’ Comp Benefits or Not File a Claim in Georgia?
- Common Defenses Insurers & Employers Use to Deny Claims
- Workers Comp Insurance Surveillance Tactics
- What To Do If You’re Misclassified as an Independent Contractor
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation for Brain Bleeds
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation for Professional Athletes With CTE
- Brake-Check Accidents & Georgia Workers’ Compensation
- Georgia’s Workers’ Comp for Respiratory Illness & Disease
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation for Moped Accidents
Pharmaceuticals and workplace impacts
Claims & settlements
- What To Do If a Workers’ Comp Adjuster Won’t Return Your Calls
- Top 10 Lies Insurance Companies Tell Injured Workers
- Reasons for Delayed Workers’ Compensation Payments
- What is the EEOICPA & How Do I File a Work Injury Claim?
- Wage Theft, Workers’ Compensation and Georgia Employee Rights
- 10 Tips for Ensuring Your Georgia Workers’ Comp Claim is Paid
- Why Is My Georgia Workers’ Comp Claim Taking So Long?
- Reasons Why Your Georgia Workers’ Compensation Benefits May Have Been Stopped
- How Workers’ Compensation Insurance Companies Calculate Your Settlement Offer
- How to Tell If an Insurance Company is “Lowballing” Your Workers’ Compensation Claim
- Resolving a Georgia Workers’ Compensation Claim Out of Court
- Do I Have to Settle My Workers’ Compensation Claim?
- What You Should Know About Georgia Workers’ Compensation Settlements
- Pros & Cons of Accepting a Workers’ Compensation Settlement
- How Can I Get the Best Possible Settlement in My Workers’ Compensation Claim?
- How to Appeal a Denied Workers’ Compensation Claim
- Workers’ Compensation Death Claims in Georgia
- What to Expect During Workers’ Comp Mediation in Georgia
- What’s the Difference Between a Workers’ Comp Hearing & Going to Court?
- Differences Between Short & Long Term Disability Benefits
- How FMLA and Georgia Workers’ Comp Work Together
- What Are Scheduled vs. Unscheduled Workers’ Comp Benefits?
- Can You Get Pain and Suffering for a Workplace Injury or Illness in Georgia?
- What Is NOT Covered by Workers’ Compensation in Georgia?
- How Long Can You Receive Workers’ Compensation in Georgia?
- Workers’ Comp Benefits Guide for Injured Workers
- Wage Loss Benefits
- Medical Benefits
- Vocational Rehabilitation Benefits
- Fatal Work Accidents & Death Benefits
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation Death Benefits: Everything You Need to Know
- Guide to Disabled Widow Social Security Benefits
- Does Georgia Workers’ Compensation Cover Alternative Medicine?
- Can Punitive Damages Be Awarded in Workers’ Comp Cases?
- How to Calculate Your Average Weekly Wage for Workers’ Compensation in Georgia
- Is Overtime Included in Workers’ Compensation Benefits?
- How Does Workers’ Compensation Impact Your Retirement?
- COBRA and Georgia Workers’ Compensation
- Vacation, Personal Time and Your Georgia Workers’ Compensation Claim
- How To Pay Bills When Waiting for Workers’ Comp or Disability Benefits
- What to Say to a Workers’ Compensation Insurance Company (And What NOT to Say)
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation If You Were Injured in Another State
- Functional Capacity Evaluation & Workers’ Compensation
- Failed Drug Test While on Georgia Workers’ Compensation
- When Can You Refuse Work in a Workers’ Compensation Case?
- Should You Return to Work While Your Workers’ Compensation Case is Pending?
- What to Do If Your Employer Doesn’t Have Workers’ Compensation Coverage
- Common Tactics Employers and Insurers Employ to Reduce Workers’ Compensation
- When Your Claim is Denied
- FAQs: Common Questions About Workers’ Comp
- Do You Qualify for Workers’ Comp?
- Workers’ Comp Statute of Limitations (Time Limits)
- Important Workers’ Compensation Facts for Injured Workers
- Workers’ Compensation and Bankruptcy: What Happens to My Benefits?
- How Labor Unions Affect Injured Workers in Georgia
- How Driverless Cars are Impacting the Safety of Our Roads
- How To Handle a Toxic Work Environment
- Field Control Therapy & the Future of Work Injury Treatments
Social Security Disability (SSDI)
- How Disability Ratings Work for Workers’ Comp Claims in Georgia
- Temporary Partial (TPD) & Total (TTD) Disability Benefits in Georgia
- Social Security Disability and Workers’ Compensation in Georgia
- Permanent Partial Disability Benefits
- Does the Color of Your Car Impact Your Safety?
- Georgia Employer Obligations for COVID-19 Safety & Prevention
- Most Hazardous Chemicals & Materials in Georgia Workplaces
- Top Organizations Fighting for Workers’ Rights & Safety in the U.S.
- What Are Georgia Workers’ Rights to PPE in the Workplace?
- How to Prevent Shoulder Injuries in the Georgia Workplace
- How to Prevent Neck and Back Injuries in the Georgia Workplace
- Workplace Safety Tips to Prevent a Workplace Accident in Georgia
- What Are the Top Causes of Work-Related Accidents in Georgia?
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation for Workplace Violence
- The Rights and Responsibilities of Employees and Workers
- What Are the Most Dangerous Jobs in Georgia?
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation and Modified (Light) Duty Restrictions
- Tips for Staying Safe While Working in a Construction Site
- Tips for Staying Safe While Working in a Warehouse
- Tips for Staying Safe While Working With Toxic Chemicals
Legal terms & definitions
- Workers’ Comp Glossary
- What Are Controverted Workers’ Comp Claims in Georgia?
- What is Discovery in a Georgia Workers’ Compensation Case?
- What Is a Retrospective Workers’ Compensation Policy?
- What is a Rebuttable Presumption and Affirmative Defense?
- What is Subrogation?
- What are Workers’ Compensation Liens & How Can a Lawyer Help?
Government resources on workplace safety
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)
Provides comprehensive information on workplace injuries from a division of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
Provides comprehensive workplace safety information from a branch of the U.S. Department of Labor.
U.S. Department of Labor – Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs (OWCP)
Web site for the federal agency that administers workers’ compensation-like benefit programs for federal government workers, energy workers, maritime workers and coal miners.
Haz-Map: Occupational Exposure to Hazardous Agents
Information on hazardous substances and occupational disease from the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Workplace Health and Safety
Information on workers’ compensation and links to information on occupational health and workers’ rights, provided by the AFL-CIO.
Injuries, Illnesses and Fatalities (IIF) program
Statistics and articles on injuries, illnesses and fatalities in the workplace from the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS).
Job Accommodation Network (JAN)
A free consulting service for workers with disabilities and their employers from the U.S. Department of Labor that provides information about job accommodations, the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and the employability of people with disabilities.
Workers’ Compensation: An Overview
Overview of workers’ compensation law from Cornell Law School.
Take action by talking to our top Atlanta workers’ comp attorney
Are you ready to learn more about your injury claim? Fill out a contact form or give us a call and we’ll be in touch with you shortly to get more details about your case. The Georgia statute of limitations requires injured workers to file a workers’ compensation claim within 1 year from date of injury (not 2 years like most other personal injury claims). After this period, your chance to receive financial reimbursement may expire.